Review of Carver’s Will You Please Be Quiet, Please?

Carver

My undergraduate degree was in English Language and Literature and I had a number of choices to make about which courses to take – it is not possible to study all of literature in a single degree. I was happy enough with the choices I made but I did not have the chance to study American literature – it did not seem terribly interesting to me when there was so much else with which to become involved. As a result, I came to authors such as John Updike and Philip Roth quite late and, until the other week, had not read Raymond Carver at all. That changed as a result of a sale in one of the local bookshops, which was then offering 50% discounts on certain books – one of which was a copy of Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? Having read the book, I am certainly going to be looking for more.

Read the full review here.

Leave a Reply

