Review of Dunnett’s Scales of Gold


Scales of Gold is the fourth of Dorothy Dunnett’s wonderful House of Niccolo series, which extends to seven books in all. It is, therefore, the centre of the series and may be expected to see some changes in the development of the principal characters and their relationships with each other – those that have not succumbed to one of the myriad causes of early death in the fifteenth century. This takes place against the background of Africa, where Nicholas and his companions trek to Timbuktu to search for gold and to try to deal with the slave trade.

Read the full review here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s